USGS - science for a changing world

Pacific Coastal and Marine Science Center

USGS Pacific Coral Reefs Website

USGS Pacific Coral Reef Studies - Project Participants

Name Area of Interest Contact Information
Sallie Beavers
National Park Service
Marine ecology, Kaloko-Honokōhau National Historical Park, Hawaiʻi sallie_beavers@nps.gov
Rian Bogle
USGS Flagstaff
Remote sensing and camera systems, image processing and analysis rbogle@usgs.gov
Michael Bothner
USGS Woods Hole
Geochemistry of reef sediments Retired
Eric Brown
National Park Service
Marine ecology, Kalaupapa National Historical Park, Molokaʻi eric_brown@nps.gov
R. Scott Calhoun
Seattle, WA
Beach and coastline sediment of Kauaʻi and Molokaʻi rscalhoun@hotmail.com
R. Scott Carr
USGS Corpus Christi
Sediment chemistry, toxicology Retired
Michael Casso
USGS Woods Hole
Geochemical lab analysis mcasso@usgs.gov
Pat Chavez
USGS Flagstaff
Western Region remote sensing specialist, image processing and analysis Retired
Hank Chezar
USGS Santa Cruz
Photography and camera system technologist hchezar@usgs.gov
Susan Cochran
USGS Santa Cruz
Remote sensing and mapping of coral reefs, GIS, public relations, and project coordination and logistics, web site scochran@usgs.gov
Pete Dartnell
USGS Santa Cruz
Remote sensing and mapping of seafloor systems, GIS pdartnell@usgs.gov
Mimi D'Iorio
NOAA
Remote sensing of coastal change from mangroves mimi.diorio@noaa.gov
Mike Field
USGS Santa Cruz
Geology and sedimentology of Pacific coral reefs Retired
Chip Fletcher
University of Hawaiʻi
Reef history and evolution fletcher@soest.hawaii.edu
Mike Gawel
National Park Service
Marine resources manager, War in the Pacific National Historical Park, Guam mike_gawel@nps.gov
Ann Gibbs
USGS Santa Cruz
Mapping of coastal systems agibbs@usgs.gov
Eric Grossman
USGS Santa Cruz
Sedimentology and stratigraphy, coral reef geology and ecology egrossman@usgs.gov
Cheryl Hapke
USGS St. Petersburg
Coastal mapping and shoreline change chapke@usgs.gov
Gerry Hatcher
USGS Santa Cruz
GIS/Navigation specialist, software development ghatcher@usgs.gov
Bruce Jaffe
USGS Santa Cruz
Waves and current processes, sediment dynamics bjaffe@usgs.gov
Paul Jokiel
University of Hawaiʻi
Coral reef ecology, distribution and monitoring jokiel@hawaii.edu
Greg Kudray
National Park Service
Inventory and monitoring manager, Pacific Island Network, Hawaiʻi Volcanoes National Park, Hawaiʻi greg_kudray@nps.gov
Angela Lam
USGS Santa Cruz
Sediment lab analysis technician alam@usgs.gov
Josh Logan
USGS Santa Cruz
Geographic Information Systems (GIS) and instrument specialist jlogan@usgs.gov
Marion Nipper
Texas A&M University
Marine ecotoxicology Retired
Andrea Ogston
University of Washington
Waves and current processes, sediment dynamics ogston@ocean.washington.edu
Scott Peckham
University of Colorado
Landscape and sediment discharge modeling scott.peckham@colorado.edu
Greg Piniak
NOAA
Coral reef biology and productivity greg.piniak@noaa.gov
Nancy Prouty
USGS Santa Cruz
Paleochronology and deep-sea corals nprouty@usgs.gov
Bruce Richmond
USGS Santa Cruz
Mapping of coastal systems brichmond@usgs.gov
Captain Joe Reich
Kaunakakai, Molokaʻi, HI
Captain/Owner Alyce C Sportfishing ace@aloha.net
Tom Reiss
USGS Santa Cruz
GPS/Navigation Specialist, Diving Safety Officer treiss@usgs.gov
Rick Rendigs
USGS Woods Hole
Sediment trap specialist Retired
Ceil Roberts, formerly of
University of Hawaiʻi
Island history, coral distribution, ecology and monitoring  
Will Smith, formerly of
University of Hawaiʻi
Coral reef mapping and monitoring  
Curt Storlazzi
USGS Santa Cruz
Project Chief Scientist, wave and current modeling, sediment dynamics cstorlazzi@usgs.gov
Peter Swarzenski
USGS Santa Cruz
Geochemistry, submarine groundwater analyses pswarzen@usgs.gov
Mike Torresan
USGS Santa Cruz
Sediment lab analysis manager mtorresan@usgs.gov
Miguel Velasco
USGS Flagstaff
Remote sensing and camera systems, image processing and analysis mvelasco@usgs.gov

Accessibility FOIA Privacy Policies and Notices

Take Pride in America logo USA.gov logo U.S. Department of the Interior | U.S. Geological Survey
URL: http://coralreefs.wr.usgs.gov/participants.html
Page Contact Information: coralreefs@walrus.wr.usgs.gov
Page Last Modified: 12 December 2014 (sac)